If you have spent any time poking around the Timeslips toolbar menus, you may have noticed the "Close Slips" option under "Slips". In this article, I'd like to explore the differences between Closing Slips and Purging Slips:
When a slip is "Closed", it is removed from view. The slip still remains in the database and can be included in reports, but not for billing.
When a slip is "Purged", it is removed from the database. The slip will not be available to be included in a report.
You will select the "Close Slip" option when your database has grown to a point where you notice the performance is slowing down and it takes considerable longer to view slips. If you have been using Timeslips for a few years, you will want to make the "Close Slips" function part of your normal annual maintenance.
Filters are available to help you select which slips you want to close. As you can see, it is possible to select a group of slips that are older than a specific number of months. This is a good option, if you do not have any open, unbilled matters with slips that go back several years. Otherwise, you might want to use the filter option to select slips for specific clients, within a specific date range.
One of the good things about Closing Slips is that you can easily Reopen them by selecting that option from the Slips toolbar in Timeslips.