A frequent Timeslips maintenance question that I am often asked is "should I make my Timeslips client status "inactive" or "closed"?
Most of the time, you want to make the Timeslips client "Inactive" once you are no longer billing or have any open receivables for that Timeslips client. The reason is that the status, "Inactive" is available as a selection criteria on all Timeslips reports. This is important because even after you are no longer actively billing a client or collecting payments, you may still want their information to be included on Timeslips reports. Say you want a report of all your revenues for the last five years. Many clients that were billed during that period now have an "Inactive" status. You would want to include "Inactive" in the Client Classification criteria (the default is "Open"). If you change a client's status to "closed" you will not be able to include those clients on many of the Timeslips reports.
The general rule-of-thumb is to never change a client status to "Closed" unless you are preparing to purge those clients permanently from your database. If you have marked clients as "closed", but still want their data available for reporting, just change the Client status back to "Inactive".
You can change the client status from within the Timeslips Client Information record or by selecting the "change classification" from the Client Information toolbar.
If you have questions or require additional information, feel free to contact me: email@example.com